Fabulous Philippines > Batanes


Share this page:

Located in the far north of the Philippines (and about 160 kilometers north of Luzon and just 190 kilometers south of Taiwan), the Batanes Islands are isolated subtropical islands visited by few tourists. Batanes Islands also make up Batanes, the smallest province of the Republic of the Philippines.

Cathedral, Basco, Batanes, Philippines image

Basco Cathedral, Basco, Batanes

The capital city is Basco (also known as Santo Domingo de Basco), is located on Batan Island (the second-largest island of the Batanes Island) and, according to the 2000 Census, has a population of 6,717.

The three main islands of the Batanes Islands are Batan, Sabtang and Itbayat. These three islands are also the only inhabited islands of the Batanes.

The indigenous people of the Batanes are the Ivatans. These people descended from Austronesians who migrated to the Batanes Islands about 4,000 years ago.

Share this page:

Author: David Paul Wagner
(David Paul Wagner on Google+)

© 2005-23 FabulousPhilippines.com. All Rights Reserved.